Kerala State Syllabus Plus One English Textbook PDF Download

Download the Kerala state syllabus (SCERT) Plus One English textbook below. This book is published by the State Council of Educational Research and Training (SCERT) which is an autonomous body under the government of Kerala. 

The books here are the latest edition.

Kerala syllabus Plus One English textbook PDF download:

Contents of Kerala Plus One English textbook

Kerala state syllabus Plus One (Class 11) English Syllabus:

  • Unit 1 – Glimpses of Greatness
    His First Flight – Liam O’Flaherty
    I will Fly – Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
    Quest for a Theory of Everything – Kitty Gail Ferguson
    If (Poem) – Rudyard Kipling
  • Unit 2 – Words and Deeds
    And then Gandhi Came – Jawaharlal Nehru
    The Price of Flowers – Prabhat Kumar Mukhopadhyay
    Death the Leveller (Poem) – James Shirley
  • Unit 3 – Beyond the Horizon
    Sunrise on the Hills (Poem) – H. W. Longfellow
    The Trip of Le Horla – Guy de Maupassant
    The Sacred Turtles of Kadavu (A Fijian Legend)
  • Unit 4 – Braving the Hazards
    Disasters and Disaster Management in India – Anjana Majumdar
    The Serang of Ranaganji – Dr. A. J. Cronin
    The Wreck of the Titanic (Poem) – Benjamin Peck Keith
  • Unit 5 – Harmony of Life
    Gooseberries – Anton Chekhov
    To Sleep (Poem) – William Wordsworth
    Going out for a Walk – Max Beerbohm
  • Unit 6 – Leaps and Bounds
    The Cyberspace – Esther Dyson
    Is Society Dead? – Andrew Sullivan
    Conceptual Fruit – Thaisa Frank

The textbook of English for Class XI is developed on the basis of the Revised Curriculum introduced in the state of Kerala. The textbook is activity-based, process-oriented, and learner-centered. It aims to realize and refine the language potential developed in the lower classes. The basic premise of the Textbook is that the learners will read the materials provided, perform various language-learning activities individually and in groups, and become well-equipped to use English
most effectively in real-life situations.  The textbook is divided into six units, each of which explores a common theme and provides space for the desired outcome.

The SCERT textbooks are developed in a series of workshops organized by the SCERT in which a team of teachers from various Higher Secondary Schools, Colleges, and Universities was involved.

You can also download the textbook from Kerala SCERT official website Samagra.

To download all the textbooks for Kerala Plus One, click here: